On Exhibit: The Joshua Tree – Mojave National Preserve

I’m thrilled to announce my upcoming exhibition at the Mojave National Preserve, here in California’s Eastern Mojave Desert. This solo exhibition features my series The Joshua Tree, and opens on November 5, 2011 and runs through February 5, 2012. I’ll be showing approximately fifteen framed photographs in the Desert Light Gallery at the historic Kelso Depot, and invite you to the opening reception on Saturday November 5, from 2-4pm.

The Mojave National Preserve is vast, and at 1.6 million acres is the third largest unit of the National Park System in the contiguous United States. Singing sand dunes, volcanic cinder cones, Joshua tree forests, and seasonal carpets of wildflowers are all found in this incredibly spacious and under-visited park (shhhh!). A number of the Joshua tree photographs in the exhibition were made in the Preserve, which is also home to the largest Joshua tree forest known to man (Cima Dome).

Because this is a remote park with no nearby accommodations (Baker and Needles are nearest but may not suit everyone’s taste), I encourage you to stay, camp, and enjoy the Preserve for the entire weekend (make it longer!). [UPDATED Oct 3] If you’d like to camp, I’ll provide directions to the developed campgrounds and/or suggest premier open desert camping locations within the Preserve (the beauty of the CA desert: you can camp virtually anywhere!).

Please join me at the Kelso Depot on November 5 from 2-4pm – I hope to see you there!

You are visiting the blog of fine art landscape photographer Michael E. Gordon. For additional photos and information, please visit his official website.

11 thoughts on “On Exhibit: The Joshua Tree – Mojave National Preserve

  1. Congratulations, Michael!

    I am looking forward to seeing the exhibit. I hope I can make the opening reception. Kelso Depot is an excellent venue for the exhibit.

    • It would be great to meet you, Chuck! The Group Campground is unavailable/booked on Nov 5, but I can show you numerous good places to camp (you can camp anywhere; no CG required) and point you to the developed campgrounds (if you prefer).

      If few come out for the opening, we’ll camp together!

  2. Congrats on the exhibit Michael! I visited both Joshua Tree and Mojave for the first time back in February. (Loved the Kelso Depot, such history!) Road trip and camping sandwiching a business meeting in Las Vegas (much to the chagrin of all my colleagues who flew there…). Wonderful place that I need to spend more time exploring; and more time processing my photos from that trip…

  3. Pingback: A Few Quick Announcements « Michael E. Gordon Photography

Leave a comment