Photography Podcasts

TransitionI do a lot of driving each year. Shortly after receiving an iPod, I found out about these wonderful things called podcasts. Photography-based podcasts for me have now largely replaced music while traveling, especially when I am traveling on photography business. These podcasts help to inspire, inform, and place me in a photographic frame of mind, ready to start seeing and photographing when I step out of the car. What follows is a short listing of my favorite photography-based podcasts. They’re intelligent, inspiring, and often uplifting. Give them a try:

History of Photography, by Jeff Curto. These are recorded from Jeff’s class lectures and should be considered required listening. You cannot stand on the shoulders of giants if you don’t know from where they came.

Camera Position, by Jeff Curto. NOT Jeff’s class lectures, but rather his own personal musings on a wide variety of important photography topics.

LensWork – Photography and the Creative Process. If you know the publication LensWork and Brooks Jensen’s writing, you can expect more of the same intelligent discussion and thoughts from his podcast. One of my favorites.

Thought on Photography, with Paul Giguere. Paul creates a great podcast, with excellent interviews, thoughtful questions, and intelligent insight.

The Candid Frame, by Ibarionex Perello. Ibarionex has smooth voice and is an engaging interviewer.

You’ll notice that absent from my list are any gear- or technique-based podcasts. The reason for this is simple: they’re not very interesting to me and they won’t make me a better photographer. With limited available time for podcasts, I choose to listen to those that inspire and inform me, and ultimately those that make me want to keep coming back for more.

What other good and creative podcasts can you recommend?

You are visiting the blog of fine art photographer Michael E. Gordon. For additional photos and information, please visit his official website.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

9 thoughts on “Photography Podcasts

  1. I loving watching documentaries about photography and other photographers. Now I will start to turn some of my attention to the audio discussion of photography. Thank you for the recommendations of these podcasts.

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Link Special: All Things Photography « Too Much Lattè

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Link Special: Podcasts « Too Much Lattè

  4. Pingback: Tuesday Link Special: All Things Photography – Sven Seebeck Photography

Leave a Reply

