Yosemite Meadow

Yosemite Meadow

Yosemite Meadow

I made this photograph in early November 2008 in one of Yosemite Valley’s numerous meadows. It was a chilly, frosty morning, and the last bits of early morning mist were evaporating as I tripped the shutter. I was initially drawn to the contrast between the darker tree trunk and the higher-key balance of the scene, although the texture of the frosted and dried grasses and flowers throughout the meadow really put it over the top for me. Out came the camera.

I used my vintage Wollensak Verito lens at a wide aperture (f8), and combined with camera movements, I placed the focus (pun intended) solely on the trunk and foreground grasses which left the rest of the scene soft and dreamy. Despite how cold it was that morning, this photograph evokes for me a warm, soft place to take respite and ponder the beauty of the Valley and life itself.

You are visiting the blog of fine art photographer Michael E. Gordon. For additional photos and information, please visit his official website.

5 thoughts on “Yosemite Meadow

Leave a Reply

