New Photograph: Owens Valley Pond

Owens Valley Pond ©2008 Michael E. GordonFor years now I have wanted to make the quintessential Owens Valley photograph; one that I could look at again and again (without it growing old) and that would transport me instantly to this deep and beautiful valley. I think I may now have that photograph.

I have been visiting, exploring, and recreating in California’s Owens Valley for more than half my life, and accordingly, it holds a special place in my heart. This image makes me feel the Owens Valley like no other I’ve made before.

I made this photograph outside Independence, California. Seen here are an Owens River side pond, a cottonwood tree, the bountiful sagebrush that fills the Valley, and the Inyo Mountains in the distance. I hope you enjoy the photograph and feel the Owens Valley, too.

You are visiting the blog of fine art photographer Michael E. Gordon. For additional photos and information, please visit his official website.

5 thoughts on “New Photograph: Owens Valley Pond

  1. Hi MG,

    Love the wonderful lines, patterns, textures and layers – you have a lot going on here, but yet it is pleasing to the eyes. You should be very proud of this image!

    Ron

  2. “I love the image, too! (and that’s always my ultimate photographic goal!).”

    Isn’t that the truth Michael. It is cool when others like your favorite work, but when it comes right down to it, it is you, the photographer that really matters. Sometimes it seems to me that I’m about the only one that likes my favorites!

    Ron

Leave a Reply

